The MaLisa Foundation

The MaLisa Foundation was established in 2016 by Maria and Elisabeth Furtwängler. Its aim is to create a free, equal society. On an international level, it campaigns to end violence against women and girls. In Germany, it also focuses on promoting social diversity and overcoming restrictive role models.

 

The MaLisa Foundation is the next step in Maria and Elisabeth Furtwängler's mission to empower women and young girls, by overcoming gender-based discrimination in Germany.  The first projects undertaken by the MaLisa Foundation focus on the representation of women and men in the media.

Research

About us

Maria Furtwängler

Founder and board member

"The everyday discrimination and humiliation of women in our society makes me incredibly angry. As a media professional, I am particularly interested in the images which are presented to us on a daily basis. If we want to change something, we need to study and understand the status quo. This is why we take a closer look at the images circulating in the media but also at ourselves."

Elisabeth Furtwängler

Founder and board member

"The country needs new images! We rarely see role models who motivate us to think, act and live with greater diversity. I know from my friends that sexism also hurts men. They suffer as much as we women do from the stereotypical assignment of roles. I wish that both women and men could have the freedom to tread new paths and I am happy if we can contribute towards this with the foundation."

Karin Heisecke

Project management

"Over half the population are women but they rarely enjoy equal rights - whether in politics, business, science or the media. This is not in tune with a modern, democratic society. Restrictive gender roles are a hindrance to progress and form a breeding ground for discrimination. At the MaLisa Foundation, we are an advocate for greater diversity and a more equal society."

Die Malisa Stiftung

Die MaLisa Stiftung wurde 2016 von Maria und Elisabeth Furtwängler gegründet. Ihr Ziel ist eine freie, gleichberechtigte Gesellschaft. Die Stiftung engagiert sich auf internationaler Ebene für die Beendigung von Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen.

 

In Deutschland setzt sie sich zudem für gesellschaftliche Vielfalt und die Überwindung einschränkender Rollenbilder ein. Schwerpunkt der ersten Initiativen der MaLisa Stiftung ist die Darstellung von Frauen und Männern in den Medien.

Aktuelle Studien

Wer wir sind

Maria Furtwängler

Stifterin und Vorstandsmitglied

„Die alltägliche Verachtung und Herabwürdigung von Frauen in unserer Gesellschaft macht mich enorm wütend. Als Medienschaffende interessiere ich mich besonders für die Bilder, denen wir täglich ausgesetzt sind. Wer etwas verändern möchte, muss den Status quo studieren und verstehen. Deswegen schauen wir auf die Bilder, die wir in den Medien vorfinden, aber auch immer wieder auf uns selbst.“

Elisabeth Furtwängler

Stifterin und Vorstandsmitglied

„Neue Bilder braucht das Land! Viel zu selten sehen wir Vorbilder, die uns motivieren, diverser zu denken, zu handeln und zu leben. Aus meinem Bekanntenkreis weiß ich, dass Sexismus auch Männern weh tut. Sie leiden unter den stereotypen Rollenzuschreibungen oft genauso wie wir Frauen. Ich wünsche mir, dass Frauen wie Männer neue Wege gehen können und freue mich, wenn wir mit der Stiftung dazu beitragen können.“

Karin Heisecke

Projektleitung

„Über die Hälfte der Bevölkerung sind Frauen, jedoch erscheinen sie selten gleichberechtigt - ob in der Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft oder den Medien. Das wird einer modernen, demokratischen Gesellschaft nicht gerecht. Einengende Geschlechterrollen stehen dem Fortschritt im Weg und bilden den Nährboden für Diskriminierung. Mit der MaLisa Stiftung setzen wir uns für mehr Vielfalt und eine gerechtere Gesellschaft ein.“